Every Passover, one thing I miss dearly is rice. Especially brown rice. There were times where I secretly wished I was Sephardic, so I could enjoy rice and hummus (another favorite), and take a little break from the Matzah. This year, for the first time, I can indulge in these things without breaking tradition.
Passover, which starts on Friday with a holiday meal known as a seder and ends on April 30, commemorates the flight of the Israelites from Egyptian slavery. Back in the 13th century, a rule was put in place that prohibited Ashkenazi Jews outside Israel from eating a group of foods known as kitniyot - rice, corn, peanuts, beans and other legumes - during Passover. This past November, a change was approved by Judaism's Conservative movement, to take these foods off the “forbidden” list for Passover.
Why the change? “The move comes partly in response to the growing popularity of gluten-free and vegan diets,” said Rabbi Elliot Dorff, chair of the Conservative movement's Committee on Jewish Law and Standards. He said “it is also a recognition of a changing composition and traditions of the Jewish faithful in the United States, which has the world's largest Judaic community outside Israel.”
For Conservative Jews who have observed the centuries-old prohibition against eating kitniyot over Passover, this year's seder promises to be like no other. Menus might be expanded to include sushi, which is made with rice; rice and beans; hummus; chicken satay with peanut sauce and other once-forbidden foods.
Still taboo for all Jews during Passover is hametz (or any foods that are leavened including such grains as wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt). The only approved way to consume grains is in the form of matzo, a cracker-like food that symbolizes the Jewish flight from slavery, when there was no time for bread to rise.
Whatever you choose to serve at your seder, I hope it turns out to be a festive time with family! We at the J wish all those who celebrate a Happy Passover!