Contacts for Parenting & Family

Family Services Department

Director
Amy Brinko
703.537.3039
Amy.Brinko@jccnv.org

Accounts Manager
Adi Eilat Crowley
703.537.3077
Adi.Crowley@jccnv.org

Early Childhood Services
Fairfax - JCCNV

Director
Amy Vermillion
703.537.3038
Amy.Vermillion@jccnv.org

Early Childhood Learning Center Director
Amit Hickman
703.537.3051
Amit.Hickman@jccnv.org

ECLC Program Coordinators
Laura Cooper
703.537.3065
Laura.Cooper@jccnv.org

Kelsey Lanza
703.537.3086
Kelsey.Lanza@jccnv.org

Jewish Values and
Culture Coordinator

Debbie Blonder
703.537.3067
Debbie.Blonder@jccnv.org

ECS Programming and
Events Coordinator

Juliana Quinteros-Mian
703.537.3016
Juliana.Quniteros@jccnv.org

Early Childhood Services
Alexandria - Beth El Hebrew Congregation

Director
Dina Backer
703.537.3084
Dina.Backer@jccnv.org

Early Childhood Learning Center Assistant Director
Ali Kerlin
703.537.3084
Alison.Kerlin@jccnv.org

School-Age Services & Camp Achva

School-Age Programming Director
Joelle Kelenson
703.537.3091
Joelle.Kelenson@jccnv.org


Teen Programming and School-Age Camps Director
Nori White
703.537.3041
Nori.White@jccnv.org

School-Age Programming Assistant Director
Jessica Vandell
703.537.3096
Jessica.Vandell@jccnv.org

Community Engagement

Community Engagement Director
Laurie Albert
703.537.3064
Laurie.Albert@jccnv.org

Community Engagement Coordinators
Jennifer DiAngelis
703.537.3045
Jennifer.DiAngelis@jccnv.org

Jennifer Kanarek
703.537.3019
Jennifer.Kanarek@jccnv.org

JCCNV Community Shlicha and
Jewish Agency Israeli Fellow to Hillel at GMU
Ido Rakovsky
703.537.3034
Ido.Rakovsky@jccnv.org

Upcoming Events

JCCNV: A Great Fit for Me!

Click to view...

Camp Shalom

When school is out...

BASE is the
place to be!

clientuploads/BASE/BASE 5.jpg

Join us when school is out for teacher work days, holidays, and during inclement weather when area schools are delayed or closed!

Click here to learn more.

Centertainment

Special Needs Camps

Camp Kadima & Camp Chaverim

Admission Process: Each child who submits an application to Camps Kadima or Chaverim must have an interview. Applications are dated and time-stamped as space in the camps is very limited.

INCLUSION AT JCCNV SUMMER CAMPS: We support the inclusion of all children in camp. We follow the model that all people deserve to be included in society, no matter one’s physical, social, or emotional needs. Camp is a place to learn, grow, and have fun! We encourage everybody to experience camp sometime in their lives. If your child needs additional support to successfully participate in Camp Achva, for an additional fee we can arrange for an Inclusion Support Specialist that would be a good fit for your child. We look forward to supporting you and your child in a successful and fun-filled summer! Need accommodations? No problem. Accommodation requests and registration must be submitted by June 13. Please contact Jessica Tischler, Special Needs Director, at Jessica.Tischler@jccnv.org or (703) 537-3031

Camp Kadima (Forward)

Rising 1st–3rd graders
Weeks 1–4: June 30–July 25 (no camp July 4)
Includes swim lessons.

Rising 4th–6th graders
Weeks 5-8: July 28–August 22
Includes a 3-day/2-night trip to Capital Camps August 13–15

Kadima is a recreational, social skills camp, led by a school psychologist, for children with Level 1 Autism (formerly known as Asperger’s), ADD/ADHD, and related disorders. Kadima means “
forward” or “let’s go!” which is meaningful because the goal of campis to provide positive experiences for children to absorb life skills to move forward in making individual progress. Kadima’s mission is to improve social and emotional skills in a safe and nurturing environment. The camp is designed to provide opportunities to build self-esteem, social competence, independence and self-awareness, and to foster positive friendships. Campers learn and grow dynamically. The camp is designed for social success in an inclusive environment. Parents have an opportunity to attend weekly meetings designed to provide feedback regarding their children, ask questions, and build camaraderie with the other camp families.

The camp day includes social skills therapy in conjunction with typical camp activities such as swimming, sports, arts and crafts, and music.

Social Skills curriculum includes but is not limited to:

  • Team-building and teamwork
  • Winning/losing
  • Impulse control
  • Coping strategies
  • Anger management
  • Friendship building
  • Conversation skills

Cost per 4-week session: $2,499/ $1,999 member

NEW! Camp Chaverim (Friends)

Rising 7th–9th graders
Weeks 4–6: July 21–August 8

Join us for a fun and exciting camp for teens as we venture on three field trips a week, enjoy special events, swimming, arts and crafts, sports, and more! Campers will be included in the general camp with the support of trained and compassionate counselors.
Cost per 3-week session: $1,650/ $1,320 member

Optional Week 7: (August 11–August 15)*

Includes two days of field trips and a 3-day/2-night trip to Capital Camps!
Cost: $550/ $440 member

*Children attending Camp Chaverim weeks 4–6 have the option of adding a week 7.